In 2010, Massachusetts banned texting while driving, yet many drivers continue to text while they drive and continue to cause serious accidents and injuries to others. WBUR reported that during the six years since the texting law went into effect, police have issued around 10,000 tickets with fines for texting violations. If you or a loved one is involved in an accident caused by a distracted driver it is important to consult with a personal injury attorney as soon as possible. See posts (Ten things to do if you are in Car Accident, What to do if you hit a pedestrian, Bicycle Accidents)
Note: This law may change in the near future and become more restrictive see Post Senate Proposed Ban on Cell Phone Use in Melrose Massachusetts
Currently in Massachusetts, it is illegal for anyone to engage in texting while driving.
- Accessing electronic messages
This includes any mobile telephone or handheld device capable of accessing the Internet to write, send, or read an electronic message including text messages, emails, and instant messages or to access the Internet. Mobile electronic devices does not include any equipment permanently or temporarily installed to provide navigation, emergency assistance or rear seat video entertainment. Reporting an emergency is the only exception. (Drivers are encouraged to pull over and stop the vehicle to report the emergency.)
The law applies even if the vehicle is stopped in traffic.
- 1st offense-$100
- 2nd offense-$250
- 3rd or subs offense-$500
Currently, Massachusetts drivers are allowed to talk on a cell phone while driving, but only if older than 18 and if they don’t hold a permit or provisional license.
Prohibition of all cell Phone use for Junior Operators
In Massachusetts – drivers under the age of 18 with a learner’s permit or provisional license – are prohibited from using cell phones (handheld or hands-free) while driving. This junior operator prohibition on mobile electronic devices includes mobile telephone, text messaging device, paging device, PDA, laptop computer, electronic equipment capable of playing video games or video disks or can take/transmit digital photographs or can receive a television broadcast. Mobile electronic devices does not include any equipment permanently or temporarily installed to provide navigation, emergency assistance or rear seat video entertainment. However the exception is reporting an emergency, Drivers are encouraged to pull over and stop the vehicle to report the emergency.)
- 1st offense-$100.00, and 60 day license suspension & course
- 2nd offense-$250.00, and 180 day suspension
- 3rd or subs offense-$500.00, and 1 year suspension
When people have experienced a traumatic event emotions are strong. John Tramontozzi at Tramontozzi Law is a former insurance defense counsel with extensive knowledge from working on both sides of the issue as well as years in private practice. This experience saves everyone worry, time and minimizes unnecessary expenses. Contact John Tramontozzi and Tramontozzi Law Offices for a free initial consultation.